Which month (2026)
August, varies by subject
Digital Technologies & Writing 3–7 Aug · English 10–14 Aug · Science & Spelling Bee 17–21 Aug · Maths 24–28 Aug
Which years
Years 2–12, depending on the subject
Digital Technologies / Spelling Bee: Years 2–7 · Writing: Years 3–12 · English / Maths / Science: Years 2–12
🔴 Enrolling
If the school takes part, enrol through the school; if not, parents can enrol directly
You can go through an ICAS testing centre or an authorised partner instead of the school. Either way, a parent has to complete the enrolment.
Closing dates (2026)
School payment system (PPS) 20 July · parent and school entries 27 July
Both close at 11:59pm AEST on the day. They change year to year and can shift during the season — the official page is what counts.
How long
About 30–60 minutes per subject
The number of questions grows with year level; Writing is one task at every year level.
Format
Not stated on the official page
The official page states only this: Writing is one open-response task, and the other subjects are sets of questions. Whether it is on screen or on paper, and whether it is all multiple choice, is not stated there. Go by what your school or ICAS tells you.
Cost (Australian schools)
A$21.95 per subject per student; Writing A$25.95
Includes GST. Charged per subject — you pay for the subjects you enter.
What it covers
EnglishSpelling BeeMathematicsScienceWritingDigital Technologies
Green = what WOWli already practises.
It is not an entrance exam — it is for stretching a child and building confidence, and some private schools take note of it. Closing dates are per subject and shift during the season, so do not remember it as “sometime in August”: open the official page for the subject you are entering.